Malvern Hills Gallery
|Gallery of most popular Malvern Hills panoramic photographs||Great Malvern Gallery|
For more beautiful up to date landscapes of the area visit or follow Jan's Facebook page
For updates about special sales, new exhibitions, art shows & markets, photography discussions
and tips, see brand new work before it hits the website, just click bellow...
The ridge top provides ideal walking conditions and stunning views. The Hills divide the Counties of Herefordshire and Worcestershire with the rolling hills and fields of Herefordshire to the West and the flatter plains of the Severn Valley to the East. Much of the drama and beauty of the hills is due to the way they dramatically rise out of this landscape.
The highest point on the hills is the Worcestershire Beacon - 425m, with North Hill - 397m and British Camp (Herefordshire Beacon) - 338m the other highest points. In total there are some 20 named hills comprising the complete range.
The Hills run north/south for about 13km and overlook the River Severn valley to the East, with the Cotswolds beyond. The hills are famous for their natural mineral springs & wells, and were resposible for the devopment of Great Malvern as a spa in the early 19th century. There are two passes through the hills, the Wyche cutting ( Wyche means salt) and the A449 road just north of Herfordshire beacon. The Herefordshire beacon is also known as the British Camp, as the remains of an iron age hill fort can be found at the summit.
The Malvern Hills and surrounding commons and farm land are designated as an Area of Natural Outstanding Beaty (AONB) and a European Geo Park. The Hills, protected by Acts of Parliament, are administered and maintained by the Malvern Hills Conservators.
Today there is a new theatre complex on the site of the old Winter Gardens, the old Iron Age tracks leading to St Ann's well and onto the hills are still walked by visitors, and cars as well as people now traverse Belle Vue Terrace.
The delight of Great Malvern today is its unspoilt beauty with a glimse of past Victoriana, stunning views of the Severn Vally and exciting music and theatre.
The Priory Church of Saint's Mary & Michael, Great Malvern
This ancient church was built in Norman times and is worthy of a visit , it has a wealth of 15th century Glass in superb colours and design, there are Monuments, Effigies and Tiles which bear the Arms of Edward the Confessor and of the families of Mortimer , Bohun, Clare, Despencer , Beauchamp and Stafford. There is an area devoted to the sale of books and cards . The 900 year old Priory Church contains some of the finest medieval stained glass in the country, plus the largest collection of medieval floor and wall tiles as well as carved misericords from the 14th and 15th century.
The original Norman Church, the remains of which can be seen in the massive Norman arches of the nave, was part of the Benedictine Priory of Great Malvern founded in 1085 by a monk called Aldwyn. The Church was developed over succeeding years and largely completed in its present Perpendicular style by 1500.
The theatre started its days as an assembly room and was opened in 1885 an was considered at that time to be one of the best in the Provinces, many well known and international actors have appeared here and continue to do so.
In 1997 the theatre closed for a major refurbishment this followed a lottery grant of 5.2 Million pounds, on the 24th April 1998 the theatre had the pleasure of staging the first performance in the refurbished surroundings this was performed by Nigel Kennedy playing Beethovens Violin Concerto. With the facilities of comfortable seating , a Restaurant and Bar the Theatre makes it an ideal venue for an entertaining time.
Adjoining the theatre are the Priory Park Gardens not only do these provide a place for a breather during the interval but also provide a place for relaxation on Week ends when a Band plays in the Bandstand. In the same complex as the theatre there is a Cinema which shows the latest films.
The Museum shows many fascinating relics of Malvern's history and is housed in the medieval Abbey Gateway. The building (or Priory Gatehouse) was built between 1480 and 1500 but there has probably been a gatehouse here since 1145. The displays are laid out throughout the gateway in five different rooms.
The Malvern Hills Room tells the story of the rocks of the Malvern Hills, formed over 600 million years ago. Also mentioned are the Iron Age hill forts and the work of the Malvern Hills Conservators.
The Medieval Room reflects the history of the Royal Forest or Chase along with illustrations of different aspects of the beautiful Priory Church. Evidence of Prehistoric and Roman activity is also shown.
The Water Cure Room traces the history of Malvern spring water and its uses. The water cure doctors and their hydropathic establishments, and the bottling of water from 1622 onwards are depicted here.
The Victorian Room looks at Victorian Enterprise, local government, leisure, costume, trades, the railway and education, and has an exhibition on the life and work of Sir Edward Elgar.
The Twentieth Century Room shows the effects of two World Wars on Malvern, the origins and development of Santler and Morgan cars, the history of defence research and of the Malvern Festival.
St Ann's Well
Known best for its use during the water cure, the area around the spring had once been an 11th Century hermitage for monks from Worcester. It is directly above the town, and the cottage was built over the well to provide shelter.
The original cottage can still be seen today and now offers visitors other refreshments as well as Malvern water. The cafe is only open at weekends during the winter, but during the week in the summer, however, the spring is open all year round. Although there are no longer donkeys to carry people up the hill, the 20 minute walk from the town centre is rewarded with a drink of the famous Malvern water and fine views of the town.
The Church of St. Giles, Little Malvern
Situated just a short distance from Great Malvern it is reached by the A449 road and is signposted . The medieval church is of the 12th Century it was once a Priory which housed 11 Monks, it was rebuilt in 1480-1482 and is now the Parish Church.
Little Malvern Court - adjoins the church and was once a 14th century Priors Hall , it is open to the public with limited opening hours - Wed /Thurs. Mid April to Mid July. Enquiries Tel. 01684 892988.
Malvern Spa - Display of large format panoramic photographs of Malvern Hills and surroundings
Malvern Tilla Indian Restaurant - Display of large format panoramic photographs of Malvern Hills up to 5 meters long.